Foothills Community Foundation is pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of the Jonny A. Lyons Memorial Scholarship.  A bequest from Mrs. John Joseph Lyons provides scholarship assistance to graduating high school seniors who are descendants of former Orr-Lyons Mill employees. The Orr-Lyons Mill was a cotton spinning and weaving plant that was founded in 1899 and continued to operate until 1990.

The five recipients of the Lyons Scholarship for 2018 are Joshua Bobo, Carson Burgin, Dawson Hays, James Parker and Ansley Wengerd.   Mr. Bobo is a graduate of Belton-Honea Path High School who will attend Clemson University this fall.  Mr. Burgin, an enrollee at the University of Alabama, is a Crescent High School graduate. Mr. Hayes, a Palmetto High School graduate, will attend Clemson University. James Parker of T. L. Hanna High School has enrolled at Clemson University.  Miss Wengerd, from Westside High School, will attend Greenville Technical College this fall.  All five of these recipients descend from employees of the Orr Lyons Mill.

James Parker

Dawson Hays

Carson Burgin

Josh Bobo

Ansley Wengerd