College Scholarships

Foothills Community Foundation Scholarships will be awarded on an objective and nondiscriminatory basis using policies approved in advance by the Foundation’s Board of Directors.

Selections are made by the Foundation’s Grants Review Committee. Neither the donor nor any party related to the donor may control the Grants Review Committee, directly or indirectly.

Information for Students

Several different scholarship funds have been established by individuals, companies, and organizations wanting to assist individuals with furthering their education.  All qualified applicants will be graduating high school seniors except for renewal options specifically noted. Qualifying criteria are specific to each individual scholarship.

Please note that Foothills Community Foundation offers traditional paper scholarship applications for certain scholarships not currently available online.  Contact the Foundation for details.

Online Applications accepted February 1 through March 31, 2024.

Explore Scholarships

Application Evaluations and Scholarship Awards

Selection: The Foundation staff shall ensure that all scholarship recipients are selected on an objective and non-discriminatory basis and based on specific guidelines and criteria outlined for each scholarship fund. If no applicants meet the qualifications of the scholarship for which they are applying, or if the fund performance is such that a distribution cannot be made, the committee has the option of not choosing a recipient.

Amount of Award: The amount of the scholarship awarded will be determined by Foundation staff and the Grants Review Committee and may vary due to scholarship fund balance and investment performance.

Approval of Recipients: All scholarship award recommendations shall be subject to the approval of the Foundation Board of Directors.

Announcement and Publicity: Awards will be announced by the Foundation through written notice to students and high school guidance counselors, as well as by other means.

Jay Bloomer Foundation Scholarship

Qualified scholarship applicants are college-bound students graduating from T.L. Hanna High School or Dobyns-Bennett High School.

See Full List of Criteria

Irvin Cauthen

Seniors from Anderson, Oconee, or Pickens County who plan to major in business or engineering at Anderson University, Florida State University, Clemson University or Georgia Tech are qualified.

See Full List of Criteria

Jonny Lyons Memorial Scholarship

Qualified applicants will be graduating high school seniors who are descendants of former Orr-Lyons Mill employee(s) and who can provide the names and relationships to these employees.

See Full List of Criteria

Tamassee-Salem Elementary (TSE) Challenge to be Great Scholarship

Qualified students are expected to successfully graduate from Walhalla High School in 2029, 2030 and 2031, and also successfully gain acceptance at an accredited post-secondary educational institution.

See Full List of Criteria

Bigby-Davis Phoenix Rising Consulting, LLC Scholarship

Qualified scholarship applicants are college-bound students graduating from Pendleton High School who meet the criteria linked below.

See Full List of Criteria

Sandra Meyers

Seniors from West Oak High School who will major in nursing or education are eligible.  Applications are available at the West Oak High School guidance office.

Hill Electric Scholarship

Qualified applicants will be children of Hill Electric employees.  This application is not available online.  Students and their parents will request an application from the Foundation.

Coach Jim Fraser Memorial Scholarship

Seniors at T.L. Hanna High School are eligible for this scholarship.  Applications are available through the guidance office at T.L. Hanna.